University of Saint Francis Home

Most Requested up arrow

USF Home | A-Z List | Security

Philosophy and Theology

Department of Philosophy and Theology

In light of the Catholic and Franciscan character of the University, the department of Philosophy and Theology helps students to integrate faith and reason in service to the Church and world.

Full-time faculty members are all Catholic.  Each holds a mandatum from the local bishop, which is a commitment to teach in full communion with the Church.

Our theology courses introduce students to: 

Our philosophy courses introduce students to:

The Department of Philosophy & Theology offers three majors,

four minors,

and a Master of Arts in Theology.

Some graduates of our programs pursue further study in law, politics, and other disciplines

Other graduates are often employed in schools, parishes, dioceses, hospitals and other institutions where they are able to serve the Church and world.